Aboriginal Steering Committee

The Aboriginal Steering Committee (ASC) provides important and ongoing guidance in implementing Northern Voices, Northern Waters: NWT Water Stewardship Strategy (the Water Strategy). ASC Members include representatives of Acho Dene Koe First Nation,  Dehcho First NationsGwich’in Tribal CouncilInuvialuit Regional Corporation, Kátlodééche First Nation, North Slave Métis AllianceNorthwest Territory Métis NationSahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Salt River First NationTlicho Government. The Akaitcho Territory Government attends some meetings as an observer.

Regional Aboriginal governments in the Northwest Territories (NWT) were invited to participate in the ASC to guide and shape the Water Strategy.  This input was important to make sure the Water Strategy represented the values of Aboriginal governments and people, and that settled land claim and self-government agreements were respected, as well as Aboriginal and treaty rights.